Masterpiece Theatre

• Please log in to reply

5041 replies to this topic

SimplyMichelle

SimplyMichelle

Couch Potato

Posted Jan 3, 2004 @ 8:46 PM

'ello. I'm a newbie to the Forsyte Saga discussion (love the posts). I've now seen episodes 1 and 2 (of the first series) (Started watching it because I've just discovered and fallen quite deeply for one Damian Lewis (thanks to BoB)) So my thoughts on it:

[start bashing] Young Jolyon and Helene- I hate em hate em hate em. Helene especially. She acts so indignant when she really doesn't have an excuse. When she's leaving the house just after Jolyon has left his family and Old Jolyon ignores her as he goes up the stairs her snooty "good day sir!" just had me muttering "bitch" I mean, yes, he did mention her being a servant and that she should leave the servants way, but his son had just left his wife and child and basically had left them in Old Jolyons hands. Do not be so worried about how your treated missie (and then she acts like she was just so right to "stand up for herself")

Another reason for my hating Helene came allot from the actress which had a little gnome who was sitting inside my head (also watching) shaking it's head saying "bizarre, just bizarre" to her acting.

Oh gosh and then when she has another pout fest and Jolyon stands up for his father saying that he bought all him paintings Helene is like "well that's not good enough". Again. Helene. Joylon. left. his. wife. and. child. and. yet. the. dad. still. supported. you two selfish imps secretly.

Young Jolyon managed to make me not hate him completely (like being kind to his dad when they reunite, and telling his dad to give all the money to his wife). Though that whole conversation when he shows Helene the newspaper that his wife has died
"she was your wife. THEY should have told you" (shut up Helene)
"oh (but forget her) now we can get married my love!" yeah kisses